Am I the only one who sees Brad Pitt holding a little Kevin Spacey puppet?

Am I the only one who sees Brad Pitt holding a little Kevin Spacey puppet?

So, I tried to stay up all night between Sunday and Monday to watch the 86th Academy Awards with Dahlberg, but I think I only made it up to when 12 Years A Slave won an Oscar for Best Actress In A Supporting Role. Even so, I thought it was a delightful ceremony and even though not all of her improvised jokes were very good, Ellen DeGeneres made me watch the Oscars with a warm smile on my face. One more of love than consistent amusement, but a smile nonetheless.

I won’t talk about it in any massive detail but I will list some of the highlights.

  • Ellen DeGeneres’ Audience Interactions: This was definitely one of the more fun and heartwarming Oscars I myself have had the time to watch and Ellen’s way of interacting with everyone in the audience was part of what made it work. The best parts were probably when she ordered them pizza (even if the “joke” was of the same caliber as that pizza gag from The Super Mario Brothers Movie) and when she gathered some of them for a truly impressive Twitter selfie. It earned all those RT’s, I must say.
  • Lupita Nyong’o  Acceptance SpeechLupita Nyong’o seems to be one of those few Oscar winners that actually comes prepared with a speech, because the one she gave after winning Best Supporting Actress for 12 Years A Slave was first-rate and greatly emotional.
  • John Travolta Trying To Pronounce “Idina Menzel”: I don’t know what to say, so let me just quote a truly spot-on Battlefield Earth meme shared by Doug Walker: “Fool! While you were still learning how to SPELL YOUR NAME, I was being trained to pronounce Idina Menzel!” This is the sort of things that happens when you let Tim & Eric direct the Oscars, guys. (Not that that’s a bad thing.)
  • Jennifer Lawrence Getting Called Out On Her Tripping… And Tripping Again: There are two ways you can “trip” during the Oscars. The Trey Parker & Matt Stone way (which is quite a different story), and the Jennifer Lawrence way. As of this year, the poor girl has fallen over twice and Ellen didn’t let her forget about it. Not us either, for that matter. Delightful.
  • Meryl Streep Shakin’ It To Pharrell Williams’ “Happy”: I like that song from Frozen and all, but nothing will ever beat Meryl Streep‘s moves during the performance of “Happy” from Despicable Me 2. She’s still got it.
  • Roger Ebert Getting Mentioned During The In Memoriam Segment: Ever since he left us, I’ve been hoping that my idol and inspiration Roger Ebert would make it into the In Memoriam segment of the 86th Oscars. I’m glad he indeed did. Also, kudos to the editor of the montage for taking the time to add the greats that have left us more recently, which is something that brings me to…
  • Bill Murray’s Tribute To His Old Friend And Colleague Harold Ramis: I was close to tearing up when this happened. I really was. After reciting the nominees for Best Cinematography, Bill Murray took the time to say the following: “We forgot one. Harold Ramis, for Caddyshack, Ghostbusters and Groundhog Day“. Anyone who knows the relationship Murray had with Ramis before he passed away also knows the impact of this moment. A great tribute to a great comedic hero.
  • All Those Cool Shorts And Documentaries For Me To Catch Up On: Sometimes you never hear of a movie prior to the Oscars, and that’s a good thing. Helium, Mr. Hublot, that documentary about the world’s oldest Holocaust survivor; all of them are on my Watchlist. Along with, y’know, all those Best Picture nominees I missed.

There are other delightful moments to be mentioned along with some major stinkers (confession: I liked Jim Carrey‘s bit more than most viewers) but I don’t wanna go on all day. Instead I’ll just encourage you to check out some of these moments for yourself and perhaps share some of your own favorites. For now, have a good day and always know where your towel is.

V out!

