And so we bid farewell to another great Hollywood actor.

And so we bid farewell to another great Hollywood actor.

If you were hoping to see Plutarch Heavensbee reappear in the upcoming Hunger Games sequels, I’m afraid you’re going to have to miss out on that.

I first heard about the recent passing of Philip Seymour Hoffman in the form of Tweets referencing a Wall Street Journal bulletin that claimed that he’d been found dead in his apartment. Of course, I at first expected it to be yet another scam, but as I waited for it to be confirmed a hoax, it started to seem as though it was actually legitimate. One of the acting greats has indeed left us.

Hoffman was a wonderful actor, with such films as The Big Lebowski and Magnolia being amongst some of my absolute favourite films of all time. He is a man none of us will be forgetting any time soon. I wish his loved ones all the best, and to him a peaceful rest. I am not a believer in Heaven, but I’d like to think that somehow he is currently having drinks somewhere with Olivier, O’Toole and Brando.

R.I.P Philip Seymour Hoffman. July 23, 1967 – February 2, 2014

 

