Once a year at the school I go to, preferably shortly before the start of Christmas vacation I like to get the teachers and sometimes students together for some goofy Christmas video. This here is one of them:

Merry Christmas!

EDIT: Uh-oh, it looks like I’ve fallen victim to YouTube’s latest screw-up in terms of supposed updates to their website functions (even though I don’t think anything on that godforsaken website can be classified as a “function” anymore). Specifically, my Christmas video has gotten some strikes after being run through more advanced and strict Content ID Detection system; that is, if “advanced and strict” means “more likely to make up false accusation and fuck up our apocalyptic website even further”.

The copyrighted material used in my video, according to the Content ID scan, is the following:

YouTube bull

 

Oh really, YouTube? I had no idea that the real title of Mariah Carey’s “All I Want For Christmas” is “Let’s Party” and that it’s actually made by Jive Bunny. Is it because Carey’s song was on a Jive Bunny compilation disc? Did it then have the alternate title “Let’s Party”? Whatever you say, YouTube. Whatever you say.

But wait, there’s more:

YouTube bulls

Strange. I could have sworn I was using the Dean Martin version and not the Frank Sinatra one. But then again, who am I to question the all-powerful Content ID system of the great and stupendous YouTube?

It’s a damn good luck I don’t make any money off of my videos. Otherwise the fact that the music owners will now make money off of my views probably would have made me angrier. Joke’s on you!

