Wait, wait, wait, for real? We’re doing a Cyndi Lauper song this time? Hey, that’s not so bad actually. Hell, it might actually be the most enjoyable and least painful edition of Song Commentaries I’ve ever done and ever will do on this site.

Let’s not waste any more time. Why don’t we dive right into the lovely Cyndi Lauper tunes, eh? Let’s go!

Girls Just Gotta Have Fun

(Follow along by looking at the video)

“Yo, my name is Sophia Grace
And if you’re listening to the radio right now
Get your tutus on”

… Oh. Now it all makes sense. 

“Girls just gotta have (x3) fun, fun
Girls just gotta have fun”

Ah man, I’m sorry. I should have guessed. We’re doing “Girls Just Gotta Have Fun” and not “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”. Yeah. Not to be confused.

“Hey girls, we got it going on green light
Want to get to the mall, they got them jeans I like”

Oh, but hey, they’re being clever with a subtle reference to the equally enjoyable “My Jeans” by Jenna Rose, see? You’ve got to admire the attention to continuity in all these “12-year-olds who couldn’t carry a tone if the fate of the Milky Way depended on it”-videos!

“And I see some cute kicks I wanna wear tonight
I got my glam on chick, oh yeah
EO, EO, EO”

“Yeah, uh, for this part we thought that words like ‘oh’, ‘yeah’ and ‘uh-huh’ would be too obscure and incomprehensible for our target demographic so, uh, we settled with just repeating, uh, EO over and over. And, uh, I think that’s very poetic and, uh, beautiful.”

– George Lucas on the video’s director’s commentary.

“Back up to the crib we go
We so stupid fresh, it’s something like a fashion show”

This creates some uncomfortable Honey Boo Boo flashbacks for some reason.

“We’re going off like a bomb
Everybody knows it’s on, somebody ring the alarm, yeah”

“Hello, yes, I’d like to report a crime… Yeah… Yeah, uh, this one’s called Girl’s Just Gotta Have Fun. Uh-huh. Okay. A cell next to Jessica White? … Okay, got it. Thanks a lot, bye.”

“Doesn’t matter where we’re gonna be at
Cause the parties gonna follow me here
So mister DJ, let the music play
We’re gonna have a good ti-i-ime”

Now I’m reminded of 28th Street Crew too. Damn it, Sophia Grace, I’m trying to focus here. Stop reminding me of better songs

“Girls just gotta have (x3) fun, fun
Girls just gotta have fun
Girls just gotta have (x3) fun, fun”

I don’t know if the concept of having 5-year-olds act like they’re party-hungry and possibly also very horny teens is supposed to be cute, funny or disturbing. None is working for me.

“Everywhere we go you already know that
Girls just gotta have fun
Hey yo
It’s time to get it out of here
Hope you’re breaking that girl, cause girls are fearless here”

“Yeah, girl, in this here ‘hood we invite SIX different teddy bears to them tea parties, yo. We ain’t scared o’ nuttin’.”

“Hands in the air, put them where you wanna hear
Time to rock real hard, oh yeah
Oh boy, Oh boy”

Beautiful. Just beautiful. 

“I’m dancing with my girls
Please don’t get your feelings hurt cause you might get your turn”

“And if you’re very lucky, you might just get Mr. Snuggles to go to bed with you.”

“We don’t care just don’t win us
Tonight we don’t care
We’re gonna do it up
Doesn’t matter where we’re gonna be at
Cause the parties gonna follow me here
So mister DJ, let the music play
We’re gonna have a good ti-i-ime”

Man, this is exciting!

“Girls just gotta have (x3) fun, fun
Girls just gotta have fun
Girls just gotta have (x3) fun, fun
Everywhere we go you already know that
Girls just gotta have fun”

Dance

“I-I-I’m, I’m having a party, yo

You’re all invited
Put your pink tutus on, it’s so exciting
It’s the princess swagger, moves like jagger”

Wow, another random reference to a song that’s… still pretty annoying but, yeah, definitely better than this.  

“Haters gonna hate
And their going to chit, chit chatter.
I’m Sophia Grace, I got that super base
And I’ve been flying in a rocket in and out of space”

Hmm, this almost seems like another reference. Specifically, it makes me think of Nicki Minaj, but to assume that Grace would deliberately steal ideas from Nicki Minaj is too harsh an insult even for me. 

“Nikki is my princess, and Ellen is my queen
Put them all together that’s the Hollywood dream
I’m sipping on the milk shake
Strawberries and cream”

Ooh, be careful, or Zach Galifianakis will probably make this thrill ride of a party even more intensely insane by drugging your milkshakes with Smarties.

“Rosie got my back and that’s my princess team
We’re flying to the top
We’re never gonna stop
The sky is the limit, and this princess rocks, wooh”

Woo-hoo.

Girls just gotta have (x3) fun, fun
Girls just gotta have fun
Girls just gotta have (x3) fun, fun
Everywhere we go you already know that
Girls just gotta have fun

*clap clap clap* Bravo. Bravo. Bravissimo!

Ah, that was lovely. Can’t wait ’til the next party.

