The BBC sci-fi comedy show Red Dwarf is one of those absolutely excellent shows that was taken from us much too early, but the fact that it ended way back in 1999 makes these news all the more fantastic! Yes, dear readers. A new season of one of the greatest, smartest and funniest shows in TV history appears to be in the making. I have wept a few tears of joy before writing this.

The only season I recall actually seeing on television is the eight one and back then I didn’t get why it was funny, as I was a stupid little kid. I had to get my hands on the rest of the episodes much later, and I loved each and every minute of it! The characters, the way they interacted, the dialogue, the brilliant sci-fi ideas, the writing, the sets; everything was simply wonderful. Thought so then, think so now, always will. Sure, season 7 was a little lame at times but even that one had its smart moments.

Chris Barrie as Rimmer was always my favourite. Wait, no! It was Craig Charles as Lister. No, wait! It was Danny John-Jules as Cat. Or was it Robert Llewellyn as Kryten? Oh Hell, these are simply some of the greatest comedy characters ever; it is hard to select your favourite! They’re all wonderful!

I don’t care if the world ends in 2012. If I really get a new season of Red Dwarf first, I will die happy!

