This one I recommend.

Mark (Lincoln) confesses his love for Juliet (Knightley) on Christmas Eve.

Endearing; very touching

I believe it is fair to call this the ultimate romantic comedy, being about many different love stories and many different kinds of love. It stars Hugh Grant too, so there you have it.

Richard Curtis’ Love Actually is an uplifting, endearing, well-written, well-acted and mighty enjoyable movie that reminds us of the, well, loveliness of love. Its many touching stories are set in Great Britain, during the Christmas holiday.

Bill Nighy plays musician Billy Mack who sings of love and Christmas; a man named Daniel (Liam Neeson) has lost his wife but discovers that his son (Thomas Sangster) has found love of his own; Daniels friend Karen (Emma Thompson) is worried about her marriage with Harry (Alan Rickman) and she starts to suspect infedility; a guy called Mark (Andrew Lincoln) arranges a wedding for his best friend Peter (Chiwetel Ejiofor) and a beautiful girl named Juliet (Kiera Knightley), with whom Mark is actually in love; a young man named Colin (Kris Marshall) travels to the U.S.A where women find his dialect sexy; and then there’s the new prime minister, played by Hugh Grant, who might – just might – end up together with a pretty young girl inside 10 Downing Street.

There are more stories involving characters played by Colin Firth, Laura Linney, Claudia Schiffer and Rowan Atkinson. Isn’t it true that one of the stories – one that involved Martin Freeman and Joanna Page as body doubles for the sex scenes of some movie – was cut from the film due to too much nudity? So I’ve heard at least.

Hugh Grant plays the British Prime Minister in this film. Natalie (Martine McCutcheon) is beside him.

And if that wasn’t enough, I’ve heard that in the original version of the script Rowan Atkinson’s character was going to appear in all of the storylines, and by the end he was going to be revealed as an angel. I don’t know about you, my dear readers, but I think that would’ve been sort of interesting.

But the film is good as it is, so supernatural elements aren’t really required. I enjoyed it a whole lot; I liked the choice of music (a Gospel-version of The Beatles’ “All You Need Is Love” is better than it might sound), most of the performances, the large collection of characters and the many cute, touching, hearfelt moments, and this movie has plenty of those, I can safely assure you. Something that bothered me, though, was Liam Neeson’s accent; there was something about his English dialect that didn’t sound quite right.

The way all the different love stories run into one another throughout the movie is fun to watch. I sometimes describe Love Actually as a cheerful version of Magnolia, which also had multiple storylines and I almost always enjoy films with more than one. This movie is not an exception.

Watch it when you’re in a good mood, watch it around Christmas with your loved one, heck, whenever you feel upbeat and happy about pretty much everything, watch Love Actually and you’ll probably feel even better. It is a film that takes place during a cold season, but fills your heart with a warm feeling.

I’ve found out that Richard Curtis has worked a lot with Rowan Atkinson before they did Love Actually in 2003. I still think I would’ve fancied seeing Blackadder with white fluffy wings and a glowing halo.

By the way, you may want to forget what I said about 17 posts a month. Now that I’m posting more often – who knows? – I might just change the rules, so to speak.

4/5 whatever.

