I loved Disney’s animated feature Hercules when I was young, and I also played  a lot of Age of Mythology, wrote silly comics about gods and heroes and so on and so forth. I’ve been interested in mythology for as long as I’ve been able to read, practically, though it is not until recent years that I’ve learned how many things the Hercules-movie got wrong.

What I would like to talk about is poor Hades. I don’t know how long, but he’s been portrayed as an evil, sadistic god for a very long time. In actuality – believe it or not – he was one of the nicer gods of Greek mythology. Zeus, for instance, was an abusive, mean-spirited rapist, just as Poseidon was not exactly someone you would want to anger, Aphrodite was a lustful cheater, Hera got mad at almost everything, and so on and so forth. Hades, however, was just distant and lonely and not necessarily evil or god who enjoyed killing humans, but most movies or other stories he appears in say otherwise.

It is becoming kind of annoying, I think. I would very much enjoy a film in which we see a sad, lonesome Hades sitting on his throne in Erebus, envious of all the other gods up there, as he speaks of the awe-inspiring tales from greek mythology to his only companion Cerberus, beginning with the story of Cronus and continuing until we reach the tales of Heracles and some other heroes and demi-gods.

I don’t know about you people, but I would really like to see a significantly more sympathetic Hades-story in a film soon. As it should be.

I still love James Woods’ Hades, though.

