This one's a Must-See!

I have many positve things to say about ths film, but firstly, I only have ONE positive thing to say about Sweden’s tendency to wait with actually showing certain American movies to us poor Swedes for months – they choose to show a movie when it’s been out for a long time in U.S.A, giving critics and filmgoers enough time to tell us how good/bad the film is. Thanks to this, I could go see Black Swan without major worries. “Always look on the bright side of Sweden”, right? Anyway, let’s move on…

Portman as Nina/Odette.

As a fan of Darren Aronofsky, I am not surprised he managed to create yet another masterpiece! This film reminded me how great he is and it also made me realize how fantastic the beautiful and talented Natalie Portman is (The Star Wars prequels were NOT promising, to say the least!).

So, Natalie Portman – in the best performance I’ve ever seen from her – plays Nina Sayers, a ballet dancer who wishes, not unlike most ballet dancers, to get the starring role in a new version of Swan Lake. At first things don’t look too well; the director Thomas Leroy (Vincent Cassell) thinks she does well as the Odette, the Swan Queen, although he finds her Black Swan rather unconvincing.

Thomas is an absolute bastard, if you don’t mind me saying so, who will give her the leading role, not only if she shows him her agressive side, but also if he can have sex with her. She does the former and ends up the star, replacing and upsetting her fellow dancer Beth MacIntyre (Winona Ryder).

Other characters surrounding Nina is the mysterious Lily (Mila Kunis), Nina’s alternate and fellow dancer, who sometimes only seems to exist as a life-ruining but seductive demon within Nina’s imagination but acts nicely when they meet in real life. and also Nina’s mother Erica (Barbara Hershey) who grows suspicious about the strange behaviour of her daughter, as well as a strange, bloody mark on her back. The mark appears to be the beginning of her transformation into an actual, giant black swan.

What parts in this film are real and which are just Nina’s hallucinations, most probably caused by her paranoia and fear of loosing her job?? We don’t know, we’re not supposed to and I for one, don’t exactly need to! I admire filmmakers that make the viewer discover for him- or herself what the true meaning of the film is and it works extra well if you are as talented a director as Darren Aronofsky.

Portman offers us her very best in Black Swan.

One thing that fascinated me about Black Swan is something that fascinates me about violent films (District 9 comes to mind) in general: the major things look pretty, yet the small ones hurt. What I mean by that is that seeing someone bleed out on the floor or getting severly injured is – to me, at least – not as disturbing as watching them hurt their toes badly, peel their fingers slightly, or hell, even merely cut their darn fingernails! You need to know how to do this perfectly for it work. Making the scissors sound sharp and the nail sound hard – that actually makes the process sound more painful. This is another thing Aronofsky is clearly good at (he did something similar in The Fountain).

So yes, I truly love Aronofsky and he has yet to make a film that I don’t genuinely love; his first film Pi is a really cool and” trippy” film, Requiem For A Dream is a friggin’ masterpiece (!!!!), The Fountain is quite simply one of my favourite movies of all time, The Wrestler is a also great, and finally we have Black Swan, his latest great one.

Natalie Portman does an amazing job as an actress (portraying another actress who is not that good an actress, even!), Aronosky does a splendid job as a director, the visual effects are extremely well-done, the supporting cast is doing fine also, the music is beautiful and even though it may seem horrifying and surreal at times, the film itself is also beautiful (not only because of the arousing scenes, heh-heh)! However, I was not very fond of the ending which I found to be a tad too similar to the ending of The Wrestler (I hope I’m not revealing too much), but such a small thing has no effect on such a great film! (It also makes sense seeing as the two films were originally supposed to be one!)

I strongly encourage all you film-lovers out there to see this; a well-made, well-acted and well-directed film that may be erotic at times, but also rather disturbing. Disturbing isn’t a synonym for “bad movie”, though! This one must be seen!

Here is the trailer and my rating:

5/5 whatever!

